This is the print version of >

The Council for National Policy:

Update: October 15, 2004

See Also: What is the CNP

On August 28, 2004 the New York Times ran an article titled "Club of the Most Powerful Gathers in Strictest Privacy" by DAVID D. KIRKPATRICK. It was a report about the CNP's most recent meeting at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. Reportedly the purpose was for what a participant called "a pep rally" to re-elect President Bush.

Speakers at the 2004 event included Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger of California and former Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani of New York. The NY Times article again confirmed many of the details that have been compiled in the Council for National Policy section on this site.

The reporter also quoted the CNP rules, which they obtained, and which stated in part:

"The media should not know when or where we meet or who takes part in our programs, before of after a meeting,"

"The membership list is "strictly confidential." Guests may attend "only with the unanimous approval of the executive committee...."

According to the article, President Bush had addressed the group in fall 1999 to solicit support for his campaign. It was also reported that after the Iraq invasion, Vice President Dick Cheney and Defense Secretary Donald H. Rumsfeld attended a CNP council meeting. The report went on to say that an agenda obtained by the Times revealed that "several Bush administration and campaign officials were on hand."

"The destiny of our nation is on the shoulders of the conservative movement," the Senate majority leader, Bill Frist, Republican of Tennessee, told the gathering as he accepted its Thomas Jefferson award on Thursday, according to an attendee's notes"

Prior recipients of the Thomas Jefferson award have included:

Thomas Jefferson Award for Servant Leadership

1997 Ward Connelly
1996 Paul Weyrich
1995 Edwin J. Feulner Jr.
1994 Phyllis Schlafly
1993 Daniel O. Graham
1992 Clarence Thomas
1991 Robert H. Krieble
1990 James Dobson
1989 Ellen St. John Garwood
1988 William Armstrong
1987 Fred Schwarz
1986 Edwin Meese III
1985 William J. Bennett
1984 John F. Lehman
1983 Jesse Helms
1982 Jeane J. Kirkpatrick

See: CNP Executives

Copyright . All articles are the sole property of and Vicky Dillen. All Scripture King James Version unless otherwise stated.

JCSM's Top 1000 Christian Sites - Free Traffic Sharing Service!